As demolition begins at The Chart House in Coconut Grove to make way for a new mixed used development called The Harbour. The building sat empty for almost two years since closing in November 2015, which was delayed because of litigation.
Built in 1982 by architect Joe Lancor of Hawaii, The Chart House had a unique design that featured wood panelling on the ceiling with large glass windows overlooking Biscayne Bay. There were three large sunlight windows on the roof of the building - one in the middle and two long windows on the West and East side of the restaurant. The interior had a distinct green carpet throughout the dining area. Read More
Built in 1926, and located at the corner of Main Highway and Charles Street, The Coconut Grove Playhouse opened 90 years ago on January 1, 1927, with a D.W. Griffith production of Satan of Sorrows that was attended by over 1,500 people. The building was originally named the Coconut Grove Theatre.
The Coconut Grove Theatre was built by Miami locals Irving J. Thomas and Fin L. Pierce as movie theater for the Paramount Enterprises Chain and the largest in Miami. The theater was designed by architect Richard Kiehnel of Kiehnel and Elliot to resemble a Spanish Rococo Palace in the style of Mediterranean Revival. The building originally had seven stores on the ground level, ten offices on the second floor and the third floor were apartments. It had the latest Wurlitzer pipe organ and had a very modern amenity at the time - air conditioning.
Before the theater opened, Irving J. Thomas and Fin L. Pierce sold the building to Paramount Enterprises and the theater thrived until the Great Depression of the 1930s hit and attendance dropped significantly. The Coconut Grove Theatre eventually closed in the mid-1930s until it was used to train Air Force Navigators during World War II. Read More